Tropical North Queensland

Local Planning Committee

The Local Planning Committee (LPC) has been established with responsibility for developing a Local Investment Plan in consultation with the local community.

The Local Investment Plan will identify forward looking strategic growth sectors that drive economic growth and create jobs.


The Minister for Regional Development, Senator the Hon Fiona Nash, has appointed the following members to the LPC:

  • Associate Professor Trent Twomey (Chair)
  • Mr Rob Giason
  • Ms Deb Hancock
  • Mr Richard Ireland
  • Ms Sally Mlikota
  • Ms Joann Schmider
  • Mr Gordon Wellham AM

In addition, the following Australian and State Government representatives will contribute in an advisory role:

  • Mr Kelsey Ormsby, Department of State Development
  • Mr Greg Clarke, Commonwealth Department of Employment

Map of Region

The Regional Jobs and Investment Packages (RJIP) region comprises the three local government areas of Cairns Regional Council, Yarrabah Aboriginal Shire Council, and Douglas Shire Council.

A map of the region can be found below.

  • Tropical North Queensland RJIP boundary PDF: 638 KB ReadSpeaker

For enquiries regarding the establishment of the Tropical North Queensland Local Planning Committee, please contact