Local Government

There are 546 local governing bodies across Australia including the Australian Capital Territory.

The Australian Government, through the Department of Infrastructure, Regional Development and Cities contributes to the prosperity of the economy and the wellbeing of all Australians by assisting local governments to manage their own futures, including providing essential services and developing effective planning initiatives.


Last Updated: 9 January, 2018