National Awards for Local Government

Entries now open

The National Awards for Local Government is an annual celebration of Australian local government achievements. The Awards highlight innovative and resourceful solutions that local Governments have implemented to make a difference within their communities.

The Awards celebrate local government projects that demonstrate leading practice, deliver improved outcomes, have the potential to be rolled out across the country and make a meaningful difference for communities. The Awards are administered by the Department of Infrastructure, Regional Development and Cities with support from sponsoring Australian Government departments, Woodside Energy Ltd. and LG Professionals Australia.

woodside logo

optus logo


How to enter

Entries are to be submitted using the online entry form.

Please note the entry requirements for submissions.

  • In preparing your submission ensure you have referred to the Submission Guidelines (Hyperlink to guidelines) and the appropriate Category Factsheet.
  • You are required to provide a project overview at point 1 of the Assessment Criteria in the online entry system.
  • A 300-word limit applies to the Project Overview and each of the four criterion.
  • Short attachments are permitted (10 page limit on attachments).
  • Links to multimedia can be included in the submission or submission attachments.

Helpful Hint: prepare your submission offline in Word and copy and paste into the online entry form.

Submissions for the 2018 Awards will be accepted from 22 January 2018 to 2 March 2018. Late submissions will not be accepted.

If you are unable to access the online entry form or if you require any additional information please email the Awards Team at

Key dates

22 January 2018 Entries open
2 March 2018 Entries close
Mid-April 2018 Category Winners announced
10 May 2018 National judging
19 June 2018 Awards presentation events

If you require any additional information, please email the Awards Team at


Last Updated: 22 January, 2018