National Awards for Local Government

image of Local Awards for Local Government banner

Entries opening 23 January 2017

The National Awards for Local Government is an annual celebration of Australian local government achievements. The Awards highlight innovative and resourceful solutions that local governments have implemented to make a difference within their communities.

Key dates

23 January 2017 Entries open
3 March 2017 Entries close
Mid-April 2017 Category Winners announced
Early-May 2017 National judging
20 June 2017 Awards presentation events

About the Awards

The Australian Government works together with the states, territories and local governments to improve economic growth and enhance productivity, building jobs and opportunities that strengthen the national economy and enable local communities to manage their futures, including providing essential services and developing effective planning initiatives.

The Awards recognise the important role of local governments in delivering targeted quality services to Australians in urban and regional communities. The Awards celebrate local government projects that demonstrate leading practice, deliver improved outcomes, have the potential to be rolled out across the country and make a meaningful difference for communities.

Each year the Award's focus is on local government projects that are relevant to the national agenda.

Local governments play an important leadership role in identifying regional strengths and working collaboratively to deliver projects that create jobs and develop regional economies for the benefit of their communities and the nation.

Local governments are invited to submit projects that contribute to building a stronger more productive and diverse economy and deliver better services at a local community level.

The Awards are administered by the Department of Infrastructure and Regional Development with support from sponsors.

NOTE: This page will be progressively updated with the Submission Guidelines and Category Fact Sheets.

If you require any additional information, please email the Awards Team at


Last Updated: 15 December, 2016